Deleted iPhone photos show up again after iOS update


iPhone owners are reporting that photos they’d deleted are now back on their phones, after updating to iOS 17.5.

With so many users reporting similar oddities, it would seem something went wrong, or at least different than to be expected. When you delete a photo from an iPhone or iPad, it goes into a “Recently deleted” album for up to 30 days to make it easy to recover if the photo is accidentally deleted. However, the above examples vastly exceed this timeframe, and it’s unclear exactly what’s happened here.

Read more…
Source: Malwarebytes Labs


Sign up for our Newsletter


Related:

  • iPhone users in 98 countries warned about spyware by Apple

    July 12, 2024

    In April 2024, we reported how Apple was warning people of mercenary attacks via its threat notification system. At the time it warned users in 92 countries. In a new round, Apple is now warning users in 98 countries of potential mercenary spyware attacks. The message sent to the affected users says: “Apple detected that you ...

  • Millions of iOS apps could have been hit by cyberattack due to a worrying flaw

    July 3, 2024

    A key tool used primarily in iOS and macOS app development was vulnerable in a way that opened up millions of Mac apps to supply chain attacks, experts have warned. Cybersecurity researchers EVA Information Security claim a dependency manager for Swift and Objective-C projects called CocoaPods, carried three vulnerabilities in a “trunk” server used to manage ...

  • Deleted iPhone photos show up again after iOS update

    May 16, 2024

    iPhone owners are reporting that photos they’d deleted are now back on their phones, after updating to iOS 17.5. With so many users reporting similar oddities, it would seem something went wrong, or at least different than to be expected. When you delete a photo from an iPhone or iPad, it goes into a “Recently deleted” ...

  • Trust Wallet Issues Warning to Apple Users About Zero-Day Exploit in iMessage

    April 16, 2024

    Trust Wallet, a popular web3 wallet, has issued a warning to Apple users, urging them to disable iMessage due to “credible intel” regarding a zero-day exploit. The company shared the alert on X, stating that the exploit, which is being sold on the Dark Web, could potentially allow hackers to take control of users’ iPhones without ...

  • Apple alerts users in 92 nations to mercenary spyware attacks

    April 11, 2024

    Apple sent threat notifications to iPhone users in 92 countries on Wednesday, warning them that may have been targeted by mercenary spyware attacks. The company sent the alerts to individuals in 92 nations at 12pm Pacific Time Wednesday. It did not disclose the attackers’ identities or the countries where users received notifications. “Apple detected that you ...

  • Phishing Attack Targets Apple Users With Password Resets

    March 27, 2024

    If you suddenly receive dozens of password-reset notifications on your iPhone, watch out: You’re probably facing a devious phishing attack targeting Apple users. The malicious tactic is intended to to trick iPhone users into handing over access to their Apple accounts, according to security journalist Brian Krebs. One of the targeted users, tech entrepreneur Parth Patel, documented ...